Abahlali KwaZulu-Natal will Hold its Elective Congress on 29 May 2021

Friday, 28 May 2021
Abahlali baseMjondolo

Abahlali KwaZulu-Natal will Hold its Elective Congress on 29 May 2021

Our movement continues to be committed to the principles of democratic practice. This includes careful consensus-based decision making in meetings, regular open assemblies at which everyone can speak and elections for imisebenzi (duties) on the councils at various levels of the movement. There is always a right to recall.

Elective congresses for our branches, known as Local Councils, take place every twelve months. Elective congresses for our provincial structures take place every two years. And for the National Council elective and policy conferences are held in every three years. This democratic praxis ensure that our members remain in control of their movement. Democracy from below requires that every branch that is in good standing participate in all the political discussions and decision making in the movement.

Our movement requires brave leaders who are committed to advancing the cause of justice and the struggle for land, decent housing and dignity. This is because the state continues to be threatened by the scale at which we organise and the courage with which our members reject all the forms of oppression that we continue to face in post-apartheid South Africa. We seek leaders that have deep love for our country and for humanity. This is the principle that we do not compromise.

There will be delegates from all our branches in good standing in KwaZulu-Natal representing their respective communities. The candidates standing for election have all been nominated by the branches. This a bottom up process to ensure that our movement is led by its members from below.

The elective congress will take place at Surat Hindu Hall at Prince Edward Street in Durban. We always ask a neutral person or organisation to manage and facilitate elections to ensure that there is real fairness. This time we have requested our comrades from the Durban branch of R2K to run the election.


Nomsa Sizani: 081 005 3686
Bathabile Makhoba: 081 360 2461
Zandile Nsibande: 073 611 8279